Getting Crafty Sadhana – Days 7 – 11 – Breaking News In A Creative Way

I’ve spent pretty much everyday since I last posted writing as my daily form of crafty creativity. I started by writing little haiku’s like you saw in my last post, I wrote a series of short stories in a fabulous writing class and I wrote a limerick. I posted a quick haiku on my personal Facebook page:

Freezing cold again
My hat glued onto my head
Ice cold footie pies

As you can guess it was a homage to the never ending winter. I love a change of seasons, I love snow in the winter, but when you consider 19 degrees as balmy weather you know it’s been cold for too long. Well as a result of sharing my haiku’s a friend of mine began posting limerick’s on her Facebook page about her daily life. They were both creative and hysterical. My family had some really good news that was about to break so I gave a little teaser about how our lives were about to change. It was fun to see what guesses people were coming up with as to what on earth our news could be. Many, many, many people picked pregnant but our real news was that we bought a house. Now I could have just written, “We bought a house!” or “We finally have a home!” But that just seemed so boring and ordinary and not at all crafty or creative. So I followed in my friends footsteps and presented our good news in limerick form:

The Kolarek family’s lives did change we can say,
In a big and generous most marvelous way,
With a team that worked so hard you see,
To help us to own this here key,
You guessed it – we bought our house today! 

That sounds so much more exciting and fun doesn’t it? And it was more fun for me to think up what I would write before presenting our news to our friends. Just think of all the creative ways you could announce what is going on in your life!

The rules for a haiku are:

  • Only three lines, totaling 17 syllables throughout
  • The first line must be only 5 syllables
  • The second line must be comprised of 7 syllables
  • The third line must be 5 syllables like the first
  • Punctuation and capitalization rules are up to the poet, and need not follow rigid rules used in structuring sentences
  • Haiku does not have to rhyme, in fact many times it does not rhyme at all
  • Some haiku can include the repetition of words or sounds

And the rules for writing a limerick are:

  • 5 lines.
  • Rhyme structure is AABBA (lines 1,2 and 5 rhyme, and 3 & 4 rhyme with each other. Their “beat” is di di dum di di dum di di dum
  • Lines 1, 2, and 5 generally have seven to ten syllables, while lines 3 and 4 have only five to seven syllables. Their beat is di di dum di di di dum…
  • Ideally, it should be about a humorous or clever story/observation/statement, with the last line carrying the real “zinger” that makes it truly funny.

Most everyone is on Facebook and wouldn’t reading your news feed be more entertaining if people put some creativity into their posts? It has to start with someone, make it you!

Categories: Getting Crafty Sadhana | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.